Ravel composed his collection of piano pieces called "Miroirs" in 1904-05. Ricardo Viñes gave the first performance of the set in January 1906. Each of the five movements is dedicated to one of Ravel's friends:

     dedicated to Léon-Paul Fargue
Oiseaux tristes
     dedicated to Ricardo Viñes
Une barque sur l'océan
     dedicated to Paul Sordes
Alborada del gracioso
     dedicated to M.D. Calvocoressi
La vallée des cloches
     dedicated to Maurice Delage

Ravel subsequently orchestrated Une barque sur l'océan and Alborada del gracioso.

In 1922, Ravel made a piano roll recording of two of the movements, Oiseaux tristes and La vallée des cloches.